FritoLay - Doritos and Cheetos, Haram or Halal?

We reached out PepsiCo / Frito Lay, the parent company of Cheetos and Doritos to inquire what were the enzymes used in their products i.e Animal or Plant based. 

Most consumers who consume Halal or Vegan, do not consumer animal based products.  See reply and most current update as of July 06 2021.


Thank you for writing.

Most of the cheeses in our seasonings, including Doritos Nacho Cheese and Cheetos Crunchy Flamin' Hot, are made with animal enzymes, similar to cheeses sold in the grocery store.  If you want to avoid these enzymes, you might want to avoid our snacks that list "cheese" as ingredients.  Only a few snacks have animal flavors and they will be listed on the ingredient statement, not hidden under "natural flavors."

The snacks on the dairy section of our Kosher list are free of animal flavors and animal enzymes. For items not under the dairy sections, they can contain animal ingredients, but will be called out in the ingredients if used.

Our non-seasoned, salted-only snacks, such as Lay's Classic, Ruffles Original, Fritos, Santitas, Tostitos, Original SunChips and Rold Gold Pretzels, do not have enzymes of any kind.

I hope this information helps!

Best regards,

PepsiCo Consumer Relations
Reference # 068947901A

Next Read: Wrigley - Starburst and Skittles, Haram or Halal?

Click "Halal" to get all results on this site.